“Slow Violence” by Joanie Lemercier

Thursday 15 Sept 2022
from 7pm to 11pm
Cours Mably
Free, free entrance

Screening of the film and meeting with Joanie Lemercier in live stream

Moderated by Madina Querre (Biotope Festival) At the inaugural evening of the ÉCHO À VENIR Festival

In Slow Violence, Joanie Lemercier reveals one of Europe’s worst ecological atrocities to the public. He transforms hours of drone and field footage into an installation in which he confronts the viewer with glaring scenes of climate injustice unfolding under the benevolent eye of political powers.

This work also highlights the capacity of each citizen to mobilise, the importance of solidarity and the fact that the future is what we make of it. This mining site is now one of the front lines of the global climate crisis. This project is a major turning point in Joanie’s work.

Since his first visit to the site in 2019, he has participated in countless events and regularly supports environmental groups. After years of exploring the artistic possibilities offered by new technologies, Joanie uses his experience to spark debate around sustainable development and propose new imaginaries.

Création : Joanie Lemercier
Video (shooting and editing): Joanie Lemercier
Production : Juliette Bibasse
Music : with the permission of Multiverse Media Publishing and Subtext Recordings, music by Roly Porter, Ellen Arkbro, Cevdet Erek
Mix audio : James Ginzburg
Film of the church in Immerath: Arne Müseler
Images of activists filmed during the actions organised by the association Ende Gelände in June 2019 and September 2020
Text : Juliette Bibasse and Alexander Scholz

“Slow Violence” de Joanie Lemercier

Jeudi 15 sept 2022
de 19h à 23h
Cours Mably
Gratuit, entrée libre

Projection du film et rencontre avec Joanie Lemercier en live stream

Animée par Madina Querre (Biotope Festival)
Lors de la soirée inaugurale du Festival ÉCHO À VENIR

Avec Slow Violence, Joanie Lemercier dévoile au public l’une des pires atrocités écologiques d’Europe. Il transforme des heures d’images filmées par drone et de prises de vue sur le terrain en une installation dans laquelle il confronte le spectateur à des scènes criantes d’injustice climatique qui se déroulent sous l’œil bienveillant de puissances politiques.

Cette œuvre met aussi en lumière la capacité de mobilisation de chaque citoyen, l’importance de la solidarité et le fait que l’avenir est ce que nous en faisons. Ce site minier est aujourd’hui l’une des lignes de front de la crise climatique mondiale. Ce projet constitue un tournant majeur dans le travail de Joanie.

Depuis sa première visite sur les lieux en 2019, il a participé à d’innombrables manifestations et soutient régulièrement des groupes de défense de l’environnement. Après des années passées à explorer les possibilités artistiques qu’offrent les nouvelles technologies, Joanie utilise son expérience pour susciter le débat autour du développement durable et proposer de nouveaux imaginaires.

Création : Joanie Lemercier
Vidéo (prise de vue et montage) : Joanie Lemercier
Production : Juliette Bibasse
Musique : avec la permission de Multiverse Media Publishing et Subtext Recordings, musique par Roly Porter, Ellen Arkbro, Cevdet Erek
Mix audio : James Ginzburg
Film de l’église d’Immerath : Arne Müseler
Images d’activistes filmées pendant les actions organisées par l’association Ende Gelände en Juin 2019 et Septembre 2020
Textes : Juliette Bibasse et Alexander Scholz